Infinity Channel Swimming Beach Lifeguard Training

National Vocational Beach Lifeguard Qualification

Infinity Channel Swimming Beach Lifeguard TrainingThe National Vocational Beach Lifeguard Qualification (NVBLQ) was launched in April along with new resources.

The NVBLQ complies with the International Life Saving Federation beach competency framework. It will be offered by all three organisations and is endorsed by the National Water Safety Forum and the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI).

The NVBLQ will be recognised and promoted by RLSS UK, SLS GB, SLSA Wales as the national standard for vocational beach lifeguarding.

The NVBLQ course is a minimum of 40 hours long followed by a practical assessment on beach theory, life support, first aid, swimming pool practical and open water practical.

Upon qualifying with the NVBLQ, the certificate is valid for two years from the date of successful completion.

NVBLQ Course Pre-Requisites

Every candidate attending a NVBLQ course must:

  • Be 16-years-old or over at the time of the assessment
  • Have a good level of fitness
  • Surface dive to a depth of 1.5 metres
  • Tread water for two minutes
  • Climb out of deep water unaided and without steps
  • Be competent at swimming in the sea
  • Be able to swim 400m in less than eight minutes
  • Swim 100m on the front, 100m on the back and 200m in less than four minuets

Course Content

The NVBLQ covers all elements of beach lifeguard theory, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), first aid, pool skills and open water skills. The course is physically demanding and will include swimming to set times and lifting. The NVBLQ is comprised of four modules and all must be successfully passed to attain the qualification.

Module 1 – Beach Lifeguarding – Knowledge and Understanding

Module 2 – Life Support and First Aid

Module 3– Ocean Skils

Module 4 – Pool Skills


Beach Lifeguards may renew their qualification only within the validity of their existing qualification. Lifeguards are recommended to engage in continuous training to ensure they are ready for duty.


Approved Prior Learning (APL)

In some circumstances, candidates may be able to show evidence of prior achievement to exempt themselves from section of the course. Exceptions may apply to holders of the following awards and qualifications (guided time credits are shown in brackets):

  • Current RLSS UK National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ) [12 hours]
  • Current RLSS UK Life Support 3 [3 hours]
  • Current HSE Approved FAW [9 hours]

Where candidates wish to claim a training exemption, they must provide the course trainer with original qualifications prior to the start of the course.

A maximum of 12 hours accreditation for prior learning may be claimed.


  • The RLSS UK National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ)

Infinity Channel Swimming Life Saving Training


  • National Vocational Beach Lifeguard Qualification

Infinity Channel Swimming Beach Lifeguard Training



  • The RLSS UK National open water Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ Bolt on )

Infinity Channel Swimming Open Water Lifeguard Training



  • AED – Defib training



[contact-form-7 id=”1448″ title=”Infinity Life Saving Training”]